Sam’s START FREEDOM adventure part 1

It’s been a long time getting this started, but we are finally there! I’m Samantha (most commonly called Sam). As I was saying, START FREEDOM is finally running and it’s looking like it is going to be a great and successful campaign.

I’m a volunteer at STOP THE TRAFFIK but one with a difference… I am also a full time student at Bishop Justus School in Bromley and one day a week; every Wednesday to be precise; I devote my time to Start Freedom. I don’t do this because I ‘have to do something as part of my enrichment’ but because I WANT TO MAKE A DIFFERENCE.

The trafficking of humans is a big issue and one that I feel strongly about and that’s why I gave STOP THE TRAFFIK a ring to get actively involved with their fight. The team in London already knew me from attending past events; so when they received a call from me they knew exactly how I could help. To be honest when they told me I would be play a key role in one of their global campaigns, I thought they were having me on …..

But they weren’t! I was so excited and wanted to get started ASAP. After many meetings, loads of emailing and letter writing, not to mention oodles of coffees later (Fair Trade of course!) we have many Bromley schools keen to get involved – fantastic! Most recently we have received a lot more interest and I am pleased to say that my school, Bishop Justus are planning to get the campaign fully running by 2010.

This is by no means the end, it’s just the beginning and there is still a long way to go but we are really pleased with the direction the campaign is already taking and can’t wait to see how it is going to pan out over the next few months. I’ll keep you updated.

Can’t wait to hear more feedback on the campaign and to see more people getting involved from all over the globe.

Is your school involved with Start Freedom? Are you interested?

Leave your comments…

Sam

One thought on “Sam’s START FREEDOM adventure part 1

Leave a Reply

