Secret diary of a STOP THE TRAFFIK worker

Hello everybody!

I have been silent. Not because I am a naturally quiet person, oh no. Rather because I have been busy with our new interns (who I am looking at right now – both of which are fantastic).

I had a super weekend basking (like a cat) in the sun. In between slapping on sun cream, eating ice cream and drinking mojitos, I visited a Convent in London and it was fantastic.

I am a non-religious person myself so was a little nervous at first but it was absolutely incredible (and, most conferences and meetings I go to last hours with limited time for conversations with grass roots active community members who are actually going to do something. In the convent however, every 1 hour of talking was followed by a 30 minute biscuit break. Biscuits and chatting. Two of my favourite things)

The nuns bought some books, read all the info I took them, asked excellent questions and were so keen and motivate to get cracking on their anti-trafficking campaign I was totally inspired.

To be inspired by people I had automatically judged I had nothing in common with was a great reminder that it doesn’t matter who we are, what background or faith we come from or what community we live in because we all want the same thing. We all want to reduce the pain and harm suffered by other people.

(by the way, I know i sound totally cheesy but it is true!)

Other than that, I had to write a very last minute article for a girl’s teen magazine. After it is published I will put it up on the blog in case you are interested to read my musings.

I hope that wherever you are and whatever you are doing you are having a nice, proactive day.

P.s I am beginning to feel a seasonal bout of hayfever. I wish I could take out my eyes and wash them in cold water.

One thought on “Secret diary of a STOP THE TRAFFIK worker

  1. miriam

    i agree about the hayfever thing. it’s making PE lessons even worse than they normally are (i’m not a sporty person)

Leave a Reply

